Pre-Midterm Thoughts

Fifth week of classes. It feels like it has been so much longer than that yet at the same time, it feels like it hasn’t been that long at all. Midterms felt so far away but they have quickly crept up on me and now I almost feel overwhelmed. I don’t really know where to start; there is so much I would like to study but which course do I go for first?

Paying attention in class and checking LEARN multiple times a day really helps. On top of that, I also stay up to date by using my planner to keep track of when things are due. I also colour coded everything because I’m just an organized freak like that.

Extra help sessions have been organized to help students prepare for our upcoming week of midterms AKA Hell Week. Here’s the schedule that I’ve caught so far.
ECE 105: Thursday, October 9 from 7PM – 9PM at the Arts Lecture Hall
ECE 150: Friday, October 11 from 5:30PM – 7:30PM at RCH 302 (specifically for new programmers)
Wednesday, October 16 from 1:30PM – 4:30PM at CPH 1346
CHE 102: Every Tuesday from 11:30AM – 1:20PM at RCH 205

There is also a practice midterm later today (October 9) from 7PM – 9:30PM for those in Section 1 ECE in DC 1350. Check LEARN for the location and time of your practice midterm.

Is it just me or is it kind of difficult to manage assignments and extra study sessions sometimes? By the time I finish all my assignments that are due in the next day or two, it’s usually already 11PM. I guess that’s what happens when you get home at 5:30PM at the earliest every day. At least I’m making sure that I eat enough before I start working.

Time to get back to the studying. Good luck to everyone on your midterms!

Celina
1A Electrical Engineering
University of Waterloo

2 thoughts on “Pre-Midterm Thoughts

    • I have only been attending the extra physics lectures led by my professor which I have found incredibly helpful and I am so grateful for those extra lectures. I find that tutorials aren’t always helpful though, depending on who the TA is. Some TAs have been doing a great job while others have been wasting our time. I would definitely appreciate having a little more extra time to work on assignments and study though so yes, less can be more!

Leave a comment