Midnight Thoughts On Class So Far

It’s 2AM on a Saturday night Sunday morning and I’m sitting here writing a blog post because I need a break from the ECE 105 assignments. I’m sitting in a room with two of my classmates and we’re all sleep deprived. I caught a bug and I feel ill but the work needs to be done. I’m really not making ECE sound fun, am I?

I’ve actually been loving ECE so far. Not going to lie, it’s hard work but it’s worth it. Having classes from 8:30AM to 5:20PM Mondays to Thursdays isn’t bad at all. The time goes by so fast that it doesn’t even feel like I sit through four lectures in a row in the afternoon. Tutorials are actually incredibly helpful when you want to sit down and do the work with classmates and get help from the TAs. The only problem is that if you want to work on an assignment in a tutorial, it’s probably not going to happen because usually assignments are due during the tutorial. Oh well.

All my classes feel manageable at the moment and I’m so glad I took Calculus AP and programming courses in high school. If there is anything I would recommend for high school students to take if they have the chance to, it would be to take Calc AP and learn a C-based programming language such as Java, C++, or C#. I learned Java and C++ in high school and now C# in ECE 150; it looks great to know more than one programming language on a résumé when you apply to co-op jobs and it’s even better if you’re familiar with them. Calc AP has helped me learn everything up to week 10 in MATH 117 and there are only 12 weeks. Everything in that class is now review for me. Calc AP was worth the work and learning Java and C++ was worth the time.

I’m back to working on the ECE 105 homework now. We’ll see when I’ll have time to sit down and write a proper post soon. Don’t forget to keep asking questions because I love answering them.

Celina
1A Electrical Engineering
University of Waterloo

Leave a Reply

