Ballin’ On a Budget: Rez Essentials

Over the past couple of weeks, Ikea and Walmart have become some of my favourite places to shop for rez essentials. Coming all the way from Vancouver Island in BC, I have set a limit for myself so that everything I own will fit into two big suitcases and two carry-on bags, just to make flying more manageable. With the rez essentials, I’ve gone for products that are light, compact, and affordable.

THE BED
I’ve always had a twin-size down duvet from Ikea. It’s light, compact, warm, and affordable at an average price of about $70. I managed to roll it up and fit it into my suitcase. My duvet cover and pillow case are from Ikea as well and those can go as cheap as $10 for the set. Fitted sheets were from Bed Bath and Beyond for $20. A good pillow is important and I purchased mine from The Bay. I don’t remember how much it was anymore but it was definitely affordable. I didn’t purchase a mattress pad but lots of people recommend it. I would say that a complete bed set can cost anywhere from $100-200, depending on what you go for.

THE CLOSET
I don’t own much and I like things neat. In MKV, each room has a closet and a dresser. In my closet, I got the SKUBB organizer with 9 comparments for all my scarves, hats, and other winter accessories. For the dresser, I went for the SKUBB boxes which can be folded down when not in use. Both products are light, compact, affordable, and easy to clean.

THE DESK
I have to admit that I’m a little obsessed with nice pens and pencils so I have too many. Way too many. I have a cup that I store my extra pens and pencils in and the rest all fit in my reasonably sized pencil case. I also have sticky note pads, tape, a ruler, scissors, and a stapler. A printer is nice to have but isn’t completely necessary because you can pay to print in other buildings at school.

THE BATHROOM
The bathrooms in MKV come with shower curtains but other than that, there’s nothing. You will need towels of course and I would also recommend a bath mat. Don’t forget the toilet paper!

THE KITCHEN
My roommates and I talked about what we would bring so we wouldn’t end up with too many duplicates of things that don’t need to be duplicated. I recommend Corelle bowls and plates because they’re affordable and sturdy so even if you have to travel with them, you don’t have to worry about them breaking. Cutlery, knives, pots, and pans are also essentials but in addition to those, my roommates and I also have a toaster, blender, and baking supplies.

It sounds like there’s a lot to bring but my roommates and I managed to figure it out before we arrived so there’s just enough for what we need on a daily basis to stay organized and get things done.
If you’ve stayed in rez as well, let me know what you brought, especially if you lived in a traditional-style rez!

Celina
1A Electrical Engineering
University of Waterloo

Leave a Reply

